Patient

Otto

At the age of 13, Otto was seriously injured as a child soldier during the war in northern Uganda that had been going on for 20 years. A bullet pierced his head from behind, shredding his nose and parts of his face. The nasal septum, bony border of the right eye socket and left middle ear were completely destroyed. Respiration was also impaired.

Three operations in Nairobi, where Otto lived for 3 years in the SOS Children’s Village, were not particularly successful .

In November 2005 he came to Berlin and was admitted into the care of placet. One month later he was operated on for the first time in the DRK-Klinikum Westend. In a further seven surgeries, which extended over a period of eight months, we succeed in reconstructing Otto’s nose and largely correcting the facial deformities.

With new self-confidence, Otto started his journey home to Africa in July 2006 accompanied by a companion. Within the framework of the SOS structures he will continue to go to school there and later start training as an electrical engineer.

Dr. Helmut Fischer from Stuttgart has provided us with considerable support in restoring the nose. We thank him for this.

 

on Admittance

 

With a new nose and a new look: Cool!

Back home in the SOS Children’s Village

Back to overview

Patient

Otto

Otto wurde mit 13 Jahren als Kindersoldat im seit 20 Jahren herrschenden Krieg in Nord-Uganda schwer verletzt. Eine Kugel durchschlug von hinten seinen Kopf und zerfetzte dabei seine Nase und Teile des Mittelgesichts. Nasenscheidewand, knöcherne Begrenzung rechten Augenhöhle und linkes Mittelohr wurden vollständig zerstört. Die Atmung war behindert.

Drei Operationen in Nairobi, wo Otto 3 Jahre lang im SOS- Kinderdorf lebte, brachten nicht den gewünschten Erfolg.

Im November 2005 kommt er nach Berlin und in die Obhut von placet. Einen Monat später wird er im DRK-Klinikum Westend zum ersten Mal operiert. In weiteren sieben Operationen, die sich über einen Zeitraum von acht Monaten erstrecken, gelingt es uns, Ottos Nase zu rekonstruieren und die Entstellungen im Gesicht weitgehend zu beheben.

Mit neuem Selbstbewusstsein und Selbstvertrauen kann Otto im Juli 2006 in Begleitung die Heimreise nach Afrika antreten. Im Rahmen der SOS-Strukturen wird er dort weiter zu Schule gehen und später eine Ausbildung zum Elektrotechniker beginnen.

Bei der Wiederherstellung der Nase hat uns Dr. Helmut Fischer aus Stuttgart wesentlich unterstützt. Wie danken ihm dafür.

 

Bei Aufnahme

 

Mit neuer Nase und neuem Look: Cool!

Zurück zu Hause im SOS-Kinderdorf